Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

International Advisory Council

IRI established the International Advisory Council in 2015. They are a select group of recognized leaders from around the world who share in our vision of democracy and freedom, and are willing to lend their names and counsel to this cause.

  • Selima Ahmad
    President and Founder of the Bangladesh Women Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Anna Cabral
    U.S. Treasurer (2005-2009)
  • Al Cardenas
    Senior Partner, Squire Patton Boggs LLP
  • Lucinda Creighton
    Member of Dáil Éireann and Vice President, European People’s Party (2012-2014)
  • Stockwell Day
    Minister, International Trade Canada (2008-2010)
  • Paula J. Dobriansky
    Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs (2001-2009)
  • Mikuláš Dzurinda
    Prime Minister of Slovakia (1998-2006)
  • Naheed Farid
    Member of Parliament, Afghanistan
  • Luis Fortuño
    Governor of Puerto Rico (2009-2013)
  • Lisa Gable
    US Commissioner General to the 2005 World Exposition in Japan
  • John Howard
    Prime Minister of Australia (1996-2007)
  • Mo Ibrahim
    Founder and Chair, Mo Ibrahim Foundation
  • Martha Karua
    Minister of Justice (2005-2009)
  • Yong-Hi Kim
    Secretary General, Association of World Election Bodies, Secretary General of the National Election Commission of the Republic of Korea
  • Andrius Kubilius
    Prime Minister of Lithuania (1999 -2000; 2008 -2012)
  • Vitaliy Volodymyrovych Klitschko
    Mayor of Kyiv, Ukraine
  • John Agyekum Kufuor
    President of the Republic of Ghana (2001-2009)
  • Brian Loughnane
    Federal Director, Liberal Party of Australia (2003-2016)
  • Mel Martinez
    U.S. Senator (2005-2009)
    Secretary, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (2001-2003)
  • Dr. Raquel Munt
    National Director of Mediation for Conflict Resolution in the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights in Argentina
  • Andrés Pastrana
    President of Colombia (1998-2002)
  • José Ramos-Horta
    Nobel Laureate and President of Timor-Leste (2007-2012)
  • Oyun Sanjaasuren
    Member of Parliament of Mongolia
  • Maria Bertha Petrus (Miet) Smet
    Member of the European Parliament (1999- 2004)
  • Dr. Marta Gonzalez Vazquez
    Member of Parliament, Spain
  • Erika Veberyte
    Former Senior Foreign Policy Advisor to Speaker of Lithuanian parliament